“the best rapper alive?”

By Matt Fiore

Lil Wayne. Lil Wayne. Lil Wayne. It is near impossible to listen to the radio or watch TV for more than half an hour without hearing him in a song or seeing him in a commercial. Many young adults, both male and female, view him as the most talented artist out and can’t wait for his new album or commercial to be released. Sure he’s very popular, but I question if his popularity is justified.

I am not ashamed in saying that I am a suburban white kid whose favorite genre of music is rap. Although I cannot relate to Biggie’s crack sales or Krs-One’s time spent homeless, I have always greatly respected their ability to tell their story in coherent rhymes that flow from one line to the next over an attractive beat. Some of my favorite artists growing up in the 90’s were Naughty by Nature, Biggie, Slick Rick, DMX, Nas and Jay-Z. As I have matured, I have become a huge fan of the Wu-Tang Clan, Krs-One, Rakim, Jadakiss and Gang Starr. Lil Wayne did not make the cut for either list. I have learned to rate rappers based on their lyrics, flow, beat and gimmick, which I listed from most to least valuable. These criteria must all be closely tied together, in my mind at least, to declare them a great artist. I define a rapper’s flow as his ability to make his lyrics and beat sound in sync with each other as it guides you through the song from beginning to end. An artist’s gimmick is their unique features that separate them from one another. For example, Wu-Tang Clan’s gimmick is that they are samurai ninjas and Slick Rick is the ruler (of what I don’t know).

That brings us to an analysis of Lil Wayne. I was very impressed and became an instant fan of his after listening to one of his mixtapes in the winter of 2007. He had a very unique sound and recorded over a wide variety of songs, such as Sam Cooke’s 1964 “A change is gonna come.” I listened to the mixtape for about 2-3 weeks and then never played it again. Soon after, I bought “Tha Carter II” and was also initially impressed. However, I again listened to the CD for less than a month and would now care less if I ever heard any of the songs again. From that point on, I tried to figure out what it was about him that made me lose interest in his material so quickly. Why was it that I can listen to “Ready to Die” by Notorious B.I.G or “Enter the Wu Tang” by the Wu-Tang Clan over and over again, but Lil Wayne gets old in no time at all?

It wasn’t long before I realized that his mixtapes and albums were pretty much the same, which was why his songs were so short lived. The songs were different, but they were engineered the same way. Produce a very attractive beat and then ramble over them with rhymes about one topic in one line and then something completely different the next. It may sound good, but it leaves you wondering, “What can I take from this?”

Over the past couple years, I have asked his biggest fans: What is your favorite Lil Wayne song? I have asked about 10 people this question and have yet to receive a response. Well, how could it be that their beloved favorite rapper hasn’t made a song that even sticks out in their mind? I’ll tell you why. He is no more than a solid mixtape rapper. His unique voice sounds good over an already recorded song and this combination sounds good on a 20 second ringtone. So perhaps, he is no more than a solid mixtape-ringtone rapper. People’s short attention spans are drawn to his catchy beats and can’t get enough of his simple rhymes that go from one idea to another in a matter of a couple lines.

In closing, I ask Lil Wayne supporters the following questions: Are his lyrics carefully pieced together to tell his story or are they just a collection of rhymes from different mixtapes to underplay the catchy beat? Is his gimmick unique or is flaunting money, jewelry and women no different than any other below average rapper, such as Soulja Boy or 50 Cent? And finally, can you honestly match up any one of Lil Wayne’s songs to any of the artists I stated as some of my favorites? The answers to these questions are pretty obvious, which is why I am convinced that Lil Wayne is incredibly overrated. He has exploited hip-hop and has undone the foundation laid by the great rappers before him. He has become a product of careful marketing to attract the most fans possible for his superficial qualities, instead of for his unique abilities and ideas. Finally, I leave you with these lines from Lil Wayne songs….

“told her to back it up like erp erp and make that ass jump like jerp jerp

and thats when she licked like a lollipop” -from “Lollipop”

“And, then I leave blood in a boot, I leave a blood bath,

Sorry there’s a tub in the boot, now where the drugs at?” – from “Gossip”

“Cuz I don’t write shit cuz I ain’t got time

Cuz my seconds, minutes, hours go to the all mighty dollar

And the all mighty power of dat chit cha cha chopper” -from “A Milli”

5 Comments

Filed under music

5 responses to ““the best rapper alive?”

  1. Student

    Well put Fiore. From the title and your opening lines I was afraid you actually were going to say he is the best, but you came through in the end.

  2. You are so right. I have often had this debate with people. Yet everyone is so quick to defend him.

    The beat, that is all it is, and the random asinine comments he makes. Personally that is why I think DJ’s are the greatest artists. Just mixing and making songs that have rhythm. I mean I would rather listen to a daft punk song with a better beat and a repetitive line, than hear his whining fucking voice. In fact he should have just released the beats, thats it, just release the beats and don’t sing. Sing a hook, fine, I’ll give him that.

    But what else can you expect from a drug addicted rapper who was put on at what, age 16?? He couldn’t have finished grade school let alone learned how to actually read. I mean look at his “daddy.” And anyway.. he doesn’t even write his own songs, look at the track lists. A rapper named Gillie tha Kid wrote most of the Carter’s if I recall correctly. Along with a couple other people, so actually he’s like a retarded puppet. They should just get Stephen Hawking to recite his raps via that crazy voicebox machine and put a sick beat behind it… in fact that would probably sound amazing…

    http://video.google.com/videosearch?client=safari&rls=en&q=lil%20wayne%20interview&oe=UTF-8&um=1&ie=UTF-8&sa=N&tab=wv#client=safari&rls=en&q=lil%20wayne%20interview&oe=UTF-8&um=1&ie=UTF-8&sa=N&tab=wv&start=230

    Seriously… I feel dumber for watching this. But you gotta see it. If you get to the Obama part (around 1:17) then ask yourself what that man would say? I believe if he had seen this, he slowly placed his head in the palms of his hands and whispered “god damnit…”

  3. Oh and this is a great idea with the site. Kudos to you gentlemen.

  4. Oh, so wrong. Since I’ve converted quite a few cynics into Wheezy fans, I’ll give you the short version:

    First off, your argument:

    * Naughty by Nature – 3 albums, 2 notable songs
    * Slick Rick – 3 albums, 1 notable song
    * DMX – lots of talent, barked too much, burnt out quickly.
    * Nas – Great, but loses relevance with each new album.
    * Jay-Z – The best, but less so since ‘retirement.’ Still could never hate on Hov.
    * Wu-Tang – One of my favorites, but no crossover appeal and no group cohesion or consistency since 1997 (Wu-Tang Forever….or not).
    * Krs-One – Good for old school, average for anything else.
    * Jadakiss – Get Jiggy With it. Come on. Really?
    * Gang Starr – Talk about lyrics supported by beats. DJ Premier is one of the best. Guru is just good. Plus, they suck live.

    also left of 2pac and Kanye. mistakes.

    Lil Wayne:

    Lyrics – Most of hip-hop is based on metaphors & similies. Listening to Lil Wayne is like going to literary school for that shit. So he doesn’t go into great length about street life, drug dealing, martial arts; he’s been recording and rich since like 16, I think you’d be bored if he went over those life topics that are old news by now. Plus, we both like the Wu, and you KNOW those guys made absolutely NO sense about 97% of the time. And Ghostface’s ‘gimmick’ is making words up! Plus, for sheer, crazy, let’s see what happens entertainment value, Wheezy wins hands down.

    Plus, if you REALLY want songs with relevant subject matter, see:
    * Something You Forget
    * Tie My Hands
    * I Feel Like Dying
    * Georgia Bush
    * Ms. Officer (all she wants me to do is fuck the police).

    His Gimmick? Jay-Z flaunts money (see: money, cash, hoes), Slick Rick flaunts Jewelery (see: I Sparkle), and EVERY rapper touches the women subject repeatedly. Lil Wayne’s got the Keith Richards gimmick – go completely insane, do as many drugs as possible, rock out, have fun, and see what happens. works for him. sounds good to me.

    Songs:
    Mr. Carter – Legendary.
    A Millie – As incomprehensible and hard hitting as any Wu-Tang song.
    Oh No – Just dirty.
    Ms. Officer – Come on, it’s about sex with a female office to get out of a speeding ticket. Gotta be a classic.
    Get Money – Everything I don’t like about most pop-rap I love here. Complete guilty pleasure. Plus, see the MTV awards performance of this song, he killed it.

    ‘Coach, they won’t knock me off my pivot. forget it’

    rock on.

    dp
    http://www.theknews.com

  5. LilWayne is one of the best rappers of all times. I luv the beat of his music esp Mrs. Officer. I think most of his music’s lyrics are based on his life. LilWayne is the best!

Leave a comment