An Interview to Remember

By Dana Arschin

This is a follow-up to my last post.

Disappointed? That’s an understatement. I kept telling myself not to get my hopes up, that opportunities like these don’t really exist, and if they do, why would I be the lucky one? But then I got the phone call: “Congratulations, Dana, with over 700 applicants you are now a Top 20 finalist!”

How could I not get my hopes up now??

The next step was to have a phone interview and promote my video online as much as possible in order to make it to the Top 10. A phone interview? Piece of cake! I’m personable, smart, funny and cute, right? Or so I thought…

If you ask almost anyone who knows me they’d probably say that I’m very outgoing, a little quirky, confident, and definitely not someone who would get nervous during an interview.

I waited on my bed the day of the phone interview—résumé in my right hand, cell phone in my left. I was literally shaking. What has gotten into me? I brought my computer over to my bed and opened up my iTunes. Louis Armstrong and classical jazz should do the trick, I thought. I listened to some Louis until my phone rang.

I answered with as much energy as humanly possible, trying to hide my quivering voice. During the 20-minute interview none of the questions I expected to hear was asked. Why didn’t I prepare better? Why didn’t I research STA Travel more thoroughly? The “why” questions were racing through my head as I tried to concentrate.

“Dana, what three words would you use to describe a World Traveler Intern?”

Hmm…these words better be good, I thought to myself. “Can I use ‘open-minded’ as one word?” I asked, trying to sound cute and throw some personality in there. “Sure,” she answered.

“Okay, well the intern should be open-minded, pertinacious, and willing. And by willing, I mean willing to do anything and everything.”

WHAT!!! Did I really just say that??? Pertinacious is an SAT word that I remember very vividly for some reason. Little did I know that after speaking to several people, including my friend who is an English major at Yale, I am probably the only person in the entire world who knows what this word means.

Okay, open-minded is fine. But pertinacious and willing to do anything and everything? Those are both just bizarre things to say. I honestly think I was possessed by the STA devil during the interview.

By the way, pertinacious means to be extremely determined or tenacious. Maybe we can spread the word around a little bit? K, thanks.

So, the interview continued while my mind was someplace else, still wondering why I said some of the things I said. I made the mistake of placing more emphasis on selling myself instead of focusing on how I should best promote STA Travel.

As the conversation came to an end, the interviewer said, “Dana, what’s your favorite Spanish food?” Finally, a chance for my personality to shine, a chance to show them that I’m cultured and a chance to show them that I really get to know the countries I travel to.

“Well, I know most people would probably say ‘paella,’ but it’s not my favorite. I’d have to say…”

PAUSE. LONG PAUSE. I completely lost my train of thought. I lived in Spain with a Spanish woman for four months and knew the name of every dish she ever cooked, yet I couldn’t think of a single food in that moment.

In a final state of desperation to say something clever, I blurted out “You know, I’d have to say jamón and queso. It just tastes so much better on Spanish soil…”

HAM AND CHEESE??? REALLY DANA??

So, yeah, I will be working at an overnight camp in Pennsylvania this summer.

2 Comments

Filed under blog, life, travel

2 responses to “An Interview to Remember

  1. You had my vote–regardless of your answers!!!
    I’m so proud of how far you went!! And how far you’ll still go……
    which camp has the pleasure of your company??!!

  2. jon

    small consolation, but you learned a lot from that one interview.

Leave a comment